blogsdon.

February 26, 2008

The Wire and Ender’s Game

Filed under: Uncategorized — blogsdon @ 10:45 am

The Wire.

I’ve evangelized about this show enough to my co-workers and they’re pretty sick of me talking about it. But I must not be a very good missionary when I preach the Gospel of David Simon because I have created ZERO converts. There is one hour-and-a-half episode of “The Wire” left in the entire series, this being the fifth and final season. This has been the most truly satisfying and honest TV show I have ever seen in my life. The tagline of the show is “All the pieces matter.” As the series progresses, you begin to see that every subsequent event or happening ONLY could have occurred due a series of linked details that have come to pass in previous episodes or even previous seasons.

Each character has had a hugely dynamic story arc since Season One (the ones that are still alive, anyway). You could pick any two characters in the show and sit them together in a room and an interesting and compelling scene will take place. I’m being deliberately vague and not mentioning any characters names because I am only writing this for the people who don’t watch The Wire. My final appeal to you is this: You will become a better person after watching The Wire and maybe the world will become a better place.

Ender’s Game.

I just re-read this book for the second time. I am in a book club (I’m not the only male and we don’t read any of Oprah’s picks. I feel I don’t have to defend this any further.) This month I picked Ender’s Game since many members hadn’t read it yet, although I looked on Facebook and saw its the 9th or 10th most popular book listed for the UVA Network. I think the Bible is listed as #1, but I bet most people who listed it haven’t read the whole thing which should disqualify it completely. I’ve read the first 50 pages of Crime and Punishment about 4-5 times…does that mean I can list it as my favorite book? Hardly. What if you finally got around to finishing the other 75% of the Bible you never read before and ending up hating all of it? You’d feel pretty dumb, I imagine. That’s exactly how I imagine it going down.

Back to Ender. Winner of both the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award in 1985/86, this formidable SF (science fiction) novel follows the military training of the talented young Ender Wiggin in the year 2135 as Earth prepares for its final encounter with a destructive alien race. The story tackles themes of compassion, isolation, and manipulation and explores the dichotomies of children versus adults, games versus reality, and murder versus redemption.

I’ll be serving Penne Verde with Chicken at book club. Plus a spring mix salad.

1 Comment »

  1. if you like the wire: http://www.salon.com/ent/tv/review/2008/03/04/state_of_play/index.html

    “darwin’s radio” by greg bear is a great bio-themed sci-fi book. and I really enjoy his book “eon” as well.

    Comment by sarah — March 4, 2008 @ 11:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

